Gemstone Certification Explained: Labs, Reports and Grading

What Is a Gemstone Certificate?

A gemstone certificate, also called a lab report, is a document issued by an independent gemological laboratory that identifies a stone and describes it. It records the species and variety, carat weight, measurements, shape and color, and states whether any treatment was detected. Some reports also give an opinion on geographic origin. A certificate is not an appraisal: it does not state a price or value.

How to Read a Gemstone Certificate: Comparing the Major Labs

Not all gemstone certificates are equal. The laboratory issuing a report determines how much market credibility it carries — and directly affects resale value. A GRS “Pigeon Blood” certificate on a ruby adds tens of thousands of dollars of value. An unknown lab certificate on the same stone adds nothing. This guide explains what each major laboratory does, what their certificates cover, and which to use for different purposes.

The Major Gemological Laboratories

LaboratoryKnown forBest suited to
GRSOrigin and treatment calls on colored stones, especially ruby and sapphireHigh-value colored gemstones and unheated claims
GIAGlobal benchmark for diamonds and colored stonesDiamonds and broad colored-stone certification
GübelinPremium origin determination on fine colored stonesInvestment-grade ruby, sapphire and emerald
SSEFHigh-end colored-stone and origin reportsImportant rubies, sapphires and emeralds
IGIHigh-volume diamond and jewelry gradingDiamonds, lab-grown stones and jewelry
AGLDetailed colored-stone analysis in the US marketColored stones needing in-depth treatment analysis
GFCOAccessible colored-stone certificationEveryday certified colored gemstones
Major gemological laboratories compared at a glance.

GRS (GemResearch Swisslab)

Based in Lucerne, Switzerland. The preferred laboratory for collector and auction-grade colored gemstones. GRS introduced standardized color terminology — “Pigeon Blood” for ruby, “Royal Blue” and “Cornflower Blue” for sapphire, “Vivid Green” for emerald — that is now used as the industry benchmark at Christie’s, Sotheby’s, and Bonhams. GRS certificates include geographic origin, treatment status, and color designation. For investment-grade purchases above $1,000, GRS is the gold standard. Full breakdown: what a GRS certificate covers.

GIA (Gemological Institute of America)

The world’s most recognized gemological authority, based in Carlsbad, California. GIA’s diamond grading system is the universal standard; their colored stone reports are highly trusted for identity, treatment, and origin determination. GIA does not use qualitative color descriptors like GRS (no “Pigeon Blood” designation) but their origin determinations — “Burma,” “Kashmir,” “Colombia” — carry strong market credibility. Best for: US market, buyers who prioritize institutional recognition, diamond purchasers who also want sapphire or ruby certification. Full breakdown: what a GIA certificate covers.

Gübelin Gem Lab

Based in Lucerne, Switzerland — alongside GRS in the same gem-trading hub. Gübelin is known for exceptional scientific rigor and the Provenance Proof initiative, which uses nanotechnology to create traceable markers within certified stones. Their reports on Kashmir sapphires and Burmese rubies are particularly respected. For museum-quality or ultra-high-value investments, Gübelin is preferred alongside GRS.

SSEF (Swiss Gemmological Institute)

Third of the Swiss “big three.” SSEF reports are respected at the auction level and often issued alongside GRS or Gübelin for important stones. SSEF is known for pioneering research in beryllium treatment detection and origin determination methodology.

IGI (International Gemological Institute)

Based in Antwerp, with offices globally. IGI is the most accessible major lab — faster turnaround, lower cost, widely recognized for commercial-grade colored stones and diamonds. IGI does not carry the collector premium of GRS or Gübelin but is entirely credible for verifying stone identity, treatment, and basic color grading for jewelry purchases. Widely used for sapphires, emeralds, and rubies in the $150–$2,000 range.

AGL (American Gemological Laboratories)

Based in New York. AGL is the leading US-based colored stone laboratory, particularly respected for its detailed treatment grading and origin work on rubies and emeralds. AGL’s “Significant” vs “Minor” oiling scale for emeralds is widely used in the US auction and dealer market.

GFCO (Gem and Fashion Certification Office)

Thailand-based laboratory respected in the Asian and Southeast Asian gem trade. GFCO reports are widely used for commercial to fine grade sapphires and spinels in the Bangkok trading hub. Less recognized in European and US auction markets but entirely credible for gem identity and treatment verification. Full breakdown: what a GFCO report covers.

Which Certificate for Which Purchase?

Purchase typeRecommended lab
Investment / auction-grade ruby, sapphireGRS + Gübelin or SSEF
Collector-grade colored stone, $1k–$10kGRS or GIA
Fine jewelry, $200–$2kIGI, GFCO, or GRS
US market resaleGIA or AGL
Emerald origin & treatmentGRS, Gübelin, or AGL
Padparadscha gradingGRS (most conservative & respected)

Which gemstone certification is the most trusted?

For diamonds and broad colored-stone grading, GIA is the global benchmark. For high-value colored stones, origin and treatment, GRS, Gübelin and SSEF are the most respected. The best lab depends on the stone and the purpose of the purchase.

What is the difference between GRS and GIA certificates?

GIA is the worldwide standard for diamonds and general colored-stone grading. GRS specializes in colored stones — particularly ruby and sapphire — and is widely cited for origin and treatment calls such as unheated determinations.

What does a gemstone certificate actually tell you?

A certificate states the stone’s identity, carat weight, measurements, color, clarity, cut, any treatments detected and often the geographic origin. It is issued by an independent laboratory so you know exactly what you are buying.

Do I need a certificate to buy a gemstone?

For anything of meaningful value, yes. A laboratory report confirms the stone is natural, discloses treatments and supports resale value. Buying an uncertified high-value stone carries real risk of misrepresentation.

Is GFCO a reputable gem lab?

Yes, for identifying a stone and stating its treatment. GFCO (Gem and Fashion Certification Office) is a Thailand-based laboratory widely used in the Bangkok gem trade for commercial to fine grade sapphires and spinels. Its reports are less recognized in European and US auction markets, so buyers of high-value or auction-bound stones often add a report from GRS, GIA, AGL, SSEF or Gübelin. Read more: what a GFCO report covers.

What is the difference between AGL and GIA?

AGL (American Gemological Laboratories) is a New York laboratory that focuses on colored stones and is known for detailed treatment grading and origin work on rubies and emeralds. GIA (Gemological Institute of America) is the most widely recognized gemological authority and reports on both diamonds and colored stones. When the degree of treatment matters, an AGL report gives more detail; for broad market recognition, GIA is the more familiar name.

Gemstone grading: what labs do and do not grade

This is the part almost nobody explains, and it causes more confusion than anything else in the trade: there is no universal grading scale for colored stones.

Diamonds have the 4Cs, with defined boundaries. A G color is a G color at any reputable lab, because the scale is fixed and the reference stones are standardized. Colored gemstones have nothing equivalent. There is no agreed boundary between a “vivid” and an “intense” ruby, and no international body that sets one.

What a colored stone report actually does is identify and disclose:

  • Species and variety — natural corundum, variety sapphire. This is a factual determination, not an opinion.
  • Weight, measurements and cut — measured, not judged.
  • Treatment — whether the stone has been heated, filled, diffused or irradiated. This is the single most valuable line on the report.
  • Origin — where the stone was mined, when the lab offers it. This is an expert opinion based on inclusions and trace elements, and labs can and do disagree.

Color descriptions such as “pigeon blood” or “royal blue” appear on some reports, most notably from GRS. These are proprietary trade terms belonging to that laboratory, not industry standards. They carry weight in the market because the lab has a reputation, not because the term has a defined boundary.

The practical consequence for a buyer: do not expect a certificate to tell you whether a stone is beautiful. It tells you what the stone is and what has been done to it. Judging the color is still your job, or your jeweler’s.

Colored gemstone certification vs diamond certification

If you have bought a diamond before, a colored stone report will look strange. The two documents are doing different jobs.

 Diamond reportColored stone report
Main purposeGrade against a fixed scaleIdentify the material and disclose treatment
ColorLetter grade, D to ZDescriptive words, no fixed scale
ClarityGraded, FL to I3Usually described, sometimes not stated at all
OriginRarely relevantOften the most valuable line on the report
TreatmentNoted when present, usually absentNear universal, and the key value driver
Do labs agree?Broadly yesOn identity yes, on origin and color not always

The reason for the difference is supply. Diamonds are chemically simple and traded at enormous volume, which makes a standardized scale both possible and commercially necessary. Colored stones come from dozens of species, hundreds of deposits and every conceivable treatment history. No single scale could carry that.

Who certifies gemstones, and how the lab market works

There is no licensing authority for gemological laboratories. Anyone can open one and issue reports. That is why the name on the document matters as much as what it says.

In practice the market sorts labs into rough tiers, and the tier determines how much of a premium a claim on the report can actually carry:

  • Top tier — GIA, SSEF, Gübelin, AGL. Their origin and treatment calls are accepted at auction and underpin prices at the high end. Reports cost more and take longer.
  • Widely accepted — GRS and IGI. Strong recognition in the trade, particularly GRS for rubies and sapphires from Asian sources.
  • Commercial labs — a long list of regional and local laboratories. Their identification is generally sound. Their origin calls and premium color terminology carry far less weight.

The rule that follows from this is simple, and it saves money in both directions. Match the report to what you are paying for. A commercial lab report is perfectly adequate to confirm that a modestly priced stone is natural corundum. It is not adequate to support a no-heat premium or a Kashmir origin claim on a stone costing thousands, because the trade will not pay that premium on that paperwork.

Put the other way round: if a seller is charging a top-tier price on a commercial-lab report, the premium they are asking for is not one they can prove.

Certified Gemstones at MYGEMSET

Certified stones at MYGEMSET come with an independent laboratory report, shown on the product page. Certificates are provided as high-resolution scans with report numbers available for verification before purchase. Related: What is a GIA Certificate? | What is an Unheated Gemstone? | Gemstones for Investment

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0